Monument to Duke Mirko Petrovic and Montenegrin heroes involved in the liberation wars

The monument was rebuilt on 13th July, 2017, modeled on the original one, which was unveiled on 8th November, 1886, during the official opening of the landscaped square, attended personally by King Nikola, and demolished on 6th January, 1919, after the dynasty Petrovic was dethroned and the abolition of the Montenegrin state. It was one of the first public monuments in Montenegro. It is located on Independence Square and the author of the monument is Dimitrije Popovic, an academic painter.

Check out the rest: